Dialing in cut settings

I’m sure many of you have stumbled onto my youtube videos but thought I should share for new users. I’m slowly working my way though addressing certain common issues people are having/may have if they are new to CNC.

Here’s a link to my video on finding your cut speed but, you can find others on my channel.
https://youtu.be/U1Y6IqVog4U

Be sure to leave a comment if there are particular issues you’d like to see covered. I can’t guarantee I’ll cover all of them exactly but I will try to incorporate some ideas into the broader process for learning CNC.
Cheers, Jason.

11 Likes

I’ve watched a lot of your vids and I recommend them to anyone starting out. They were a big help. Thanks!

Hey everyone Aloha,
I’m a newbie here on the forum. Been a couple of months since I bought my arcdroid and I love it. The fact that I can make a template and create parts or tooling is awesome. I have it hooked up to an Everlast PowerPlasma 102i with CNC. Has anyone use the arcdroid to cut 1" mild steel plates? I am trying to cut a 1.5" hole for a pin and then cut a half moon shape around it to make an ear or lifting eye to weld on to an attachment for a machine. I would like some tips on the feed speed, cut z, pierce z,Kerf, etc… I tried to mess around with the tuning but can’t seem to find the correct settings that will work. The plasma should be able to cut through this thick of a plate but if I can get it dialed in. Any help would be much appreciated. Mahalo

The 102i is only rated for a clean cut on 3/4” steel at 8-12 ipm feedrate. Severance on 15/16” at 3-5 ipm feedrate and most likely a fairly ugly cut. Your asking to much for a clean cut, much less piercing 1” steel. It’s not about the Droid, it’s the limitations of the plasma cutter.

Well right off the Everlast site (Canadian one, so no account for accuracy )

• Up to 1 1/4" daily use @ 15-20 ipm
  • Up to 1 1/2" clean cut @ 8-12 ipm
  • Up to 1 5/8" severance cut @ 3-5 ipm